Walking to London – 26.9 miles

This is my first blog post therefore it’ll be bloody amazing, right?

I’ll start with my most recent adventure, walking a marathon to London (That’s in England)

Why did I do it?

I wanted the challenge, could I walk a marathon with zero training? Only one way to find out…

How did I do it?

Well, I just set off, didn’t I? Only stopping once my Strava ticked over the marathon distance and my blister popped then I decided to call it quits.

What went wrong?

Many things.

Starting in Hemel Hempstead, through the town centre, Apsley to King Langley (saw a dead rat here). Cold morning, however, that was a positive in my eyes! Perfect air-conditioning!

Next, I took the canal option to avoid crossing at the M25 roundabout and dying. Look how nicer it looked…

12-10-16-048

Popping out at Hunton Bridge and walking to the centre of Watford. Pit stopping at M&S to purchase a drink, 2 sandwiches and a pasta dish (mistake). I didn’t realise it at the time but the £2 coin I got in change was actually a rare 2002 commonweath games one, result!

On to Bushey, Bushey Heath and stopping half way up a hill on a conveniently placed bench for lunch!  Midday 20k done!

Climbed the rest of the hill, then down into Stanmore pissing off some Turkish restaurant owners for using their customer only toilet… I did thank them though 🙂

Round the corner to Edgware where I sat down on a nice grass bank to eat my nice king prawn pasta dish I’ve been looking forward to, opened it… no bloody fork! Why??? I guess it’s okay to eat pasta covered with sauce with your fingers then…

Home straight, A5 all the way to central London, the first 20 miles were easy, next 5 miles were hell. Every step I felt those blisters… walking, walking, ouch, ow blister burst, take a seat at this coffee shop… Excuse me? Can you look after my coffee while I go to the toilet? Err okay… I’ll just take a break here then. You’re welcome old lady, let’s finish this!

I limped on another mile before the other blister burst, I’d done a marathon by then so went to the nearest tube station, I had to ask people where it was, I was basically stood outside it!

I was determined to get a seat at this point with all my blisters, the train pulled up, I spotted my seat! it was mine, I charged for it! I didn’t realise the woman coming the other way was pregnant, alright? Luckily the guy next to me was a gent and gave her his seat.

Out of the tube, onto the train back to Hemel in the first seat I saw, nice first class. Walking into my home to be greeted by my brother playing the classic ‘I would walk 500 miles’ by The Proclaimers.

Mission completed. 3.10.2016

Side note: Thanks for reading

 

Method Cost Time
Walking 26.9 miles to London £8.60 on food and drink 8hrs 49mins
Jumping on the tube and train from London £15.10 on tube and train ticket 45 mins

bodt5alv

14 thoughts on “Walking to London – 26.9 miles

  1. Hi Chris, nice meeting you and thanks for the follow. 26,9 miles … let’s see, that comes to 43,29 kilometers Well done! I would have booked into a guesthouse well before the halfway mark, but I did enjoy reading about your marathon.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

